Localizador de recursos electrónicos
GUIDE FOR INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS
                     Picture:  University library

 

This guide will help you to find information about services and resources available at the University of Vigo Library
Welcome!
Welcome to your Library! We invite you to meet us!

In this guide you will find out everything you need to Know to get started with the Library. If something is not clear, do not hesitate to ask for help at the information desks or contact us by e-mail or phone. We will be pleased to help and support  you!.
To start getting to know us, watch this video:

.
           Video: The Library. Serie Welcome Days. Uvigo Services. 2020 1:24''
Covid-19 Library updates
At the beginning of the 2021/2022 academic year and due to the current situation of Covid-19, the University Library maintains some limitations derived from the application of security and hygiene measures. Check out the Instructions for reopening the study rooms/spaces of the University of Vigo libraries and, the Instructions for the loan. Information on the maximum capacity limits allowed in libraries can be checked in the "Libraries" section of our website.

Use of study rooms and stations (click on the image to view the infographic)
 
Instructions for the use of library seats
Locations and Opening hours
You have  11 libraries locations across the three campuses. Find the one more suitable for you. Locate your library in the Library directory on our website or on Google Maps (click in the link):
 
Campus Libraries Vigo Bibliotecas UVigo en Google Maps
Torrecedeira Library  Biblioteca de Torrecedeira en Google Maps
Campus Ourense Main Library Biblioteca Central Campus de Ourense en Google Maps
Campus Libraries Pontevedra   Bibliotecas Campus Pontevedra en Google Maps
 

Opening hours: Monday to Friday from 8:30 to 21.00 (Main Libraries and Torrecedeira Library) and from 8.30 to 20.45 (other libraries)
Closed afternoons in August
Click in the link to ge information about special opening hours at exam periods

How to apply for the library card
The library card is the University card. If you want to use any of the services offered at the library (book lending, interlibrary loan…) you’ll need the University Card.
 
   At this time, due to the COVID-19 restrictions, you also need it to access to the study rooms/spaces of the University of Vigo libraries

Follow the link in order to get information about the University card (TUI).

If you still don't have possession of your university card (TUI) and require use of the library, we can provide you with an access card.
Go to the library circulation desk with:
  • ID card or passport
  • Enrolment receipt of the University of Vigo or the acceptance document by the International Relations Office
  • a photo
How to use the library catalogue
Although most of the library collection is on open shelves we recomend you use the catalogue to search and find materials held by the University Library.
 
   At this time, due to the COVID-19 restrictions, print/physical access to the collection  is limited to library staff.


You can use the catalogue:
  • To find books, journals, theses, dvd’s…
  • To check your user registration (with your library or university card), which allows you to see the due dates for your borrowings, renew your loans, create alerts to return a book, save your searches in the catalogue…
  • To consult the recommended bibliography by subject.
  • To access to electronic resources (e-journals, e-books, databases...).
  • To make suggestions and complaints about the library service.

The following tutorials will show you how to use the catalogue of the library.
 
  • Search catalogue by title:


 
  • Search catalogue using keywords:
   
How to find the reading list recommended by lecturers
The Reading List or Recommended Bibliography are the documents suggested by the lecturers for each subject during the academic year.
You can access to the Reading List via the library catalogue.

In this tutorial we explain how to find the reading list



 

 

How to borrow, reserve & renew books from the library
The table below identifies how many books or other items you can borrow depending on your borrower type.
Students can borrow up to five items at the same time from any of the libraries of the University of Vigo. The borrowing has a limit of 14 days, and the students have the possibility to make up to two renewals.
The items can be renewed at the check-out desk, through the web page of the library catalogue, or by phone.
If you want to reserve a book which is already borrowed, you can ask at the check-out desk or send us an email.
Click in the picture to see the borrowing conditions
 



Renewing your loans on line

You can also renew items on line using "My Account" (A miña conta) in the Library catalogue.
For step by step instruction, please watch this tutorial:
 

 

Intercampus loan
You can request available materials in a library from all the campus at the University of Vigo. You only have to ask for this service at the check-out desk, but you can also apply for the items by phone or via e-mail.
If the items you have borrowed are located in your campus, you are expected to retrieve them yourself.
How to connect to the WI-FI
      
   All libraries are WIFI zone. Just connect using your University of Vigo e-mail address and your password                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

If your home institution is affiliated to Eduroam Project you can connect to the Eduroam wireless service at University of Vigo. Your login credentials and settings will be the same you have in your home institution.
The configuration of Eurodam needs to be done before the students leave their home institution.
Click in the link to view the guide "Conéctate nos campus"
How to use/start using the electronic resources
The University library is subscribed to a large collection of e-books, e-journals, databases, etc. to which students have full access.
Students can learn how to use the electronic resources of the University library with this tutorial. 

 
Libraries Directory
  • Central Vigo
    986 813 825 | prescen@uvigo.es
  • Central Ourense
    988 387 192 | presour@uvigo.es
  • Central Pontevedra
    986 802 002 | presbcp@uvigo.es
  • Economy & Business (Vigo)
  • 986 812 408 | preseco@uvigo.es
  • Experimental Sciences (Vigo)
    986 812 659 | prescie@uvigo.es
  • Industrial & Mining Engineering (Vigo)
  • 986 812 208 | presind@uvigo.es
  • Legal Sciences & Work Relations (Vigo)
    986 812 682 | presxur@uvigo.es
  • Philology & Translation (Vigo)
    986 812 296 | presfft@uvigo.es
  • Telecommunication Engineering (Vigo
    986 812 105 | prestel@uvigo.es
  • Torrecedeira (Vigo)
    986 813 739 | prestor@uvigo.es
  • Fine Arts (Pontevedra)
    986 801 836 | presbel@uvigo.es
Search in
Academic training
If you need orientation or training in the use of the library and its resources, look up our library's instruction program.
Other services
Reference Services
986 813 843 | referencia@uvigo.es

Interlibrary Loan
986 813 844 | sod@uvigo.es